2019 Barlow Prize

New Work for Pierrot ensemble + percussion and electronics


Submission period

Mon Nov 26, 2018 at 11 PM UTC

End of submission period

Fri May 31 at 2 PM UTC

Results date

Sat Aug 31 at 9 PM UTC
The winning composer will receive a $12,000 commission for a major new work for Pierrot ensemble + percussion and electronics. The work will be performed in 2021 by a consortium of ensembles: Crash Ensemble (Dublin, Ireland), Eighth Blackbird (Chicago, IL), and New York New Music Ensemble (New York City, NY).

The work is expected to meet the highest artistic requirements for the medium. Additional specifications for the work will be negotiated among the Barlow Endowment, the composer, and the performing consortium. Half of the commission fee will be paid after January 1st when the contract for the commission is finalized, and the other half will be paid when the finished signed and dated score is submitted to the Endowment.

There are no restrictions or preferences with regard to musical style, nationality, age, gender, race, religion, or political persuasion.

Details and online application form are available at Barlow Endowment fo Music Composition / Brigham Young University web pages: