2023 Lawson-May Award for Composition 'Duos inspired by the Sea'


Submission period

Sat Jul 22, 2023 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Fri Jan 19 at 11:59PM UTC

Results date

Fri Mar 1 at 05PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Entry fee £10
The Solent Music Festival’s 2023 Lawson-May Award for Composition is now receiving entries. Our theme this year is ‘Inspired by the Sea’ and all entries must be duos (see below).

This prestigious award of £3000, sponsored by Neil Lawson-May, is now in its fourth year and has already attracted almost a thousand entries from all over the world. Open to composers of all ages and nationalities, the final selection is made by a panel of distinguished musicians and the winner chosen by a different guest judge every year:

2020 – Huw Watkins CBE awarded the prize to ‘Qebui’ for piano trio by Eduardo Soutullo (Spain)
2021 – Joanna MacGregor OBE awarded the prize to ‘Atemkristall’ for cello and piano by Gianluca Castelli (Italy)
2022 – Sally Beamish CBE awarded the prize to ‘Aimai’ for shakuhachi and tenor recorder by Hibiki Mukai (Japan)

1) Composers of any age and nationality are eligible
2) Compositions must not have been previously published (all entries will be checked)
3) Compositions must not have won any prize in a previous composition competition (all entries will be checked)
4) Compositions must never have been performed in public (all entries will be thoroughly checked)
5) Only one entry per composer

Details are available at web pages: