Call for Scores 2022

To Countertenor and Cello Duo


Submission period

Wed May 11 at 04AM UTC

End of submission period

Mon Jun 6 at 10:59PM UTC

Results date

Mon Jun 13 at 04PM UTC


to young composers born after January 1st, 1987
Associazione EstOvest Festival Torino announces a Call for Scores dedicated to young composers from any nationality born after January 1st, 1987.


The Call For Scores EstOvest Festival 2022 is destined to countertenor and cello duo. The selected composer will write a piece to be performed within the frame of the Contemporary Cello Week 2022, a project by EstOvest Festival. The event will take place between Turin and Guarene (CN), Italy, from October 27th until October 31st, 2022.

The composer who wins the Call For Scores EstOvest Festival 2022 has to write a piece for countertenor and cello. Salient feature of the composition will be exploring the sonorities of cello and voice, how these two can compenetrate, and at the same time how they may maintain profound indipendence in relation to several compositional parameters. Another aspect the composer will pay their attention to is the extremely extended historical period (from fourteenth century vocality to nowaday’s instrumental writing) where the voice and/or the medium-low register stringed instrument have had space in the musical creation.
The duration of the piece composed by the winning candidate has to be between 5 and 7 minutes.

Danilo Pastore, countertenor
Alexander Baillie, cello


Alexander Baillie, cellist, professor at Hochschule für Künste Bremen
Giorgio Colombo Taccani, composer, professor at Conservatorio “G. Verdi” di Torino
Claudio Fenoglio, pianist, composer, conductor of the children’s choir of Teatro Regio di Torino
Michaël Levinas, composer, member of Académie des Beaux-Arts de l’Institut de France
Martin Loridan, composer, professor at Conservatorie Royal de Bruxelles
Claudio Pasceri, cellist, artistic director of EstOvest Festival
Stefano Pierini, composer, musical consultant at Orchestra Sinfonica Nazionale RAI

Details are available here: