Masterclass for composers

call for applications


Submission period

Thu Dec 6, 2018 at 5 AM UTC

End of submission period

Fri Feb 1 at 10:59 PM UTC

Results date

Fri Feb 15 at 5 PM UTC
About the Music Biennale Zagreb

The Festival is dedicated to new music of all genres and has become an important part of the European cultural scene ever since it was founded in 1961. This year, from 6-13 April 2019, the Festival will focus on creating and presenting music / sound in relation to the idea of city / space. This way, the Music Biennale Zagreb turns to many more or less related fields, such as multimedia arts, sound engineering and acoustics on the one hand, and urbanism, architecture, philosophy on the other. The idea of city will be musically decomposed in various ways – from transforming the sound of a particular location into a site-specific contemporary composition to the problematization of different layers of socio-urban (sound) structures or the creation of an imaginary surrogate city.

Along with top performers such as the London Sinfonietta or Cikada Ensemble, guest composers will include some legendary names such as Heiner Goebbels, Alvin Curran, Rolf Wallin, Vinko Globokar, Eivind Buene and Ivan Fedele.

Plan of the course for composers

Students will enlarge their creative understanding and hone their composing skills through a one-on-one approach at courses with prominent composers and open rehearsals with the resident ensemble. Mentor composers will select their students based on the applications received (see below for more information). Each composer is mentoring 3-4 students.

The program of the masterclass for composers consists of:

April 8-10
Individual classes with the students: 2x2h in which applicable pieces will be discussed (or some of student’s pieces).
Introductory lectures by the mentor composers.

April 11–12
Session with The Riot Ensemble on the pieces written for the masterclass.

All classes are open to passive participants.

Mentors: Composers Achim Bornhoeft, Nina Šenk, João Pedro Oliveira
Ensemble: The Riot Ensemble

Details are available at web pages: