Henri Lazarof International Commission Prize


Submission period

Tue Dec 8, 2020 at 5 AM UTC

End of submission period

Mon Feb 1 at 4:59 AM UTC

Results date

Mon Mar 1 at 5 PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Application fee of $25 (USD)
Henri Lazarof once said, “The world is big enough for all kinds of composers. … I try to always write for new instrumental forces — to search out the limits of the performer and one’s own limits as a composer.” The Henri Lazarof International Commission Prize will provide support to composers attempting to do the same today.

The annual prize is for the composition of an original work for select instruments. The specific instrumentation will change each year to complement an existing work by Henri Lazarof, and the commissioned piece will be performed alongside Lazarof's work.

Instrumentation for the 2021 prize is a quintet for clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano (or any subset of these instruments). Electronic music components and/or multimedia may also be included. The winner will be awarded a $15,000 commission prize, and the winning composition will be performed at Brandeis University in the spring of 2022.

Details are available at web pages: