Spotlight on Hans Abrahamsen

Workshop for conductors and composers


Submission period

Tue Nov 15, 2022 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Mon Jul 31 at 09:59PM UTC

Results date

Mon Aug 7 at 04PM UTC

Entry or Course Fee

Active conductor participants 800 €, active composer participants 300 €


Age limit for active conductors and composers is 35 years
2-6 October, 2023, Budapest, Hungary

The Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation announces a workshop for conductors and composers between 2-6 October 2023, in Budapest (Hungary). Selected active conductors and mentees of the Foundation will have the possibility to work on a piece by Hans Abrahamsen and a new piece by mentee composer Sebastian Black during rehearsals and live performance, too. The program also includes a piece by Balázs Horváth, board member of the foundation, and regular professor of the masterclasses, Professor Horváth is teaching at Franz Liszt Academy of Music.

Due to the ongoing pandemic cancellations changes are possible in the program. Before traveling make sure to get all the details of the latest travel regulations as these may change quite frequently. To enter our masterclass you have to be fully vaccinated with a proven record. Currently there are no mask mandates and other restrictions in place in Hungary or at the Budapest Music Center.

Hans Abrahamsen has more than once had the courage to stop, and the equal courage to start again – freshly, out of a clear reconsideration of where he was before. His allegiances are shown by the roll of composers whose works he has, as a master orchestrator, reconceived: Bach and Ligeti, Nielsen and Schumann, Schoenberg and Debussy.

The call is open for conductors and composers of all nationalities.

Age limit for active conductors and composers is 35 years, observers (conductors and composers) are accepted without age limit.

The course is suitable for advanced students and professionals with special interest in contemporary music repertoire.

Selected active conductor participants: 800 € (to be paid until 21 August 2023)
Selected active composers: 300 € (to be paid until 21 August 2023)
Observers: 100 € (to be paid until 25 September 2023)

Details are available at web pages: