2022 Barlow Prize

New Work for a Youth Orchestra


Submission period

Thu Feb 17 at 05AM UTC

End of submission period

Thu Jun 2 at 05:59AM UTC

Results date

Wed Aug 31 at 04PM UTC
The winning composer will receive a $12,000 commission for a major new work for a Youth Orchestra. The work will be performed in 2024-25 by a consortium of innovative and diverse ensembles which will include: Atlanta Symphony Youth Orchestra (ASYO), Guangzhou Symphony Youth Orchestra (GSYO), New York Youth Symphony (NYYS), and Seattle Youth Symphony Orchestra (SYSO) and is expected to meet the highest artistic requirements for the medium. Additional specifications for the work will be negotiated among the Barlow Endowment, the composer, and the performing consortium.

We encourage applicants from a variety of musical aesthetics and backgrounds to apply. There are no restrictions or preferences with regard to musical style, nationality, age, gender, race, religion, or political persuasion. Composers may apply for the Prize and either a General OR a Latter-day Saints commission. Composers should not submit the same pieces to be reviewed for multiple Barlow competitions. The only limitations are:

1) Composers who have won the Barlow Prize in the previous five years will not be considered in the Prize competition.

2) The Barlow Endowment is only able to grant commissions to composers who are not included among the premiering performers, conductors, directors, or agents of the commissioned work.

3) Current members of the Barlow Boards, guest judges, or interns are not eligible to apply.

Details are available at web pages: